Wow and Wonder #5

For this Wow and Wonder post, I will be responding to the article, “It’s Not Misinformation. It’s Amplified Propaganda.

Wow

I found the idea of “coordinated inauthentic behavior” to be quite shocking. I am not very active on Twitter and have rarely ever used hashtags, but I can understand how calculated posting and hashtag use, combined with enough manpower to flood the internet, would be able to completely alter or even take-over a narrative. This made me realize just how much power the Web, and its online platforms, gives to its users. It is a bit scary that our fellow internet users are able to control the information that we receive online in order to influence others and their way of thinking.

Wonder

I am curious about what more can be done to prevent the take-over of inaccurate information and/or the information that has been created by someone with an agenda on the Web. As an ordinary internet user, how can I confidently decide if the information that is presented to me is either fact or fiction? I wonder if there is an online software, application, or tool that could be created to help ensure that its users are receiving credible information.

Resource

https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2021/10/disinformation-propaganda-amplification-ampliganda/620334/

Leave a comment